Join Here

Join up to edit this article or to create one yourself. It takes just a moment and it's free

How to use this wiki site

Learn more about how this wiki works here.

Produced by

National Trust Willunga branch.

Supported by


National Trust of South Australia


Willunga Post Offices

From Willunga
Jump to: navigation, search
Fast Facts
Type of organisation: Government

Town or locality: Willunga
Date established: 1839
Established by: Government
Business or purpose: Post Office
Loading map...
The following coordinate was not recognized: div><span class="errorbox">Fatal error: Failed to parse or geocode</span></div><br /><br />.

There have been four post offices in Willunga starting before 1841 down to the present day (nearly 180 years). In 1841 the Willunga Post office was one of just six post offices in South Australia. The overland telegraph to Melbourne (via Willunga) was completed in July 1858. The Post Department and the Telegraph Branch amalgamated in 1870 to become the Post and Telegraph Department.

Post Office in the Courthouse Reserve (1839-1849) The Mounted constables resident at Willunga also acted as the postmaster between about 1839 and 1849.

Post Office at 1 St. Peters Terrace (1849-1858) Mr. Henry Malpas (1849-1858)

Post Office & Telegraph Station at 62 High Street (1858-1915) Mr. Henry Pounsett (1858-1891), Miss Esther Sadler (1891-1901), Mrs. Annie Shoobridge (1901-1905), Miss Theresa Glenie (1905-1915),

Post Office & Telegraph Station at 4 High Street (1915 to date) Miss Theresa Glenie (1915-1917). Miss Margaret Work ( -1935). Mr. E. Howarth (1935-1949), Mr. J.H. Cain (1951-1954), Mr. R.E Flint (1954-1963), Mr. R. W. Carroll (1963-1964), Mr. E.M. Vaughan (1964-1968), Mr. J.M. Black (1968-1971), Mr. A. Moyle (1971- )

Memories of Willunga Post Offices

Do you remember Willunga Post Offices ? Then Join up and add your memory here.

Print Print    Subscribe by RSS Subscribe by RSS

Bookmark and Share